Procrastination and One Way To Complete Your Goals

How many times have you said…”Yes I’ll do that tomorrow”? Sounds familiar right???? Yes, I am, or rather was, one of those people. One task being put off until tomorrow doesn’t sound too bad but what happens when it becomes 5, 20, 100. Then that overwhelmed feeling starts and it feel like nothing can be accomplished.

Well, I have finally found something that is working for me!  The “do it now” approach. It takes a bit of prep but is well worth trying.  Block out some time on your calendar and start typing your to-do list. Break down every task or goal into a single action item – ie send an email, book a meeting. I use Evernote as I can add to, and mark off, my check-list as each task is completed. I also add a task and mark it complete every time I do something not on the list. “Why?” you may ask. It allows me to check how many goals or tasks I have completed, both planned and unplanned.

Next step – tackle that list one by one – whether you make a start first thing in the morning or the last half hour before you go home. Start booking that time in your calendar until you are in a routine of automatically completing a few tasks every day. Before long you will see that list disappear. And better still at the end of the week, month, year, etc. you will see yourself with a long list of goals or tasks completed.

I start a new list each month and carry forward any unfinished tasks. That way they don’t get forgotten and will give you a starting point for the new month.

So what are you waiting for? Start that list and see how fast you can make headway on your tasks and goals. And hey guess what, I have just written another blog and that’s another tick on my to-do list 🙂

All feedback as always is welcome 🙂

Elaine

Follow me on Twitter @elainebeare

Leave a Reply

